Prizes, Awards and Honors

The following are the prizes, awards and honors that Amos Oz has received.


1965 Holon Municipal Prize for Literature, Israel (for Where the Jackals Howl)
1976 Brenner Prize for Literature, Israel (for The Hill of Evil Counsel)
1978 Ze’ev Award for Children’s Literature, Israel (for Soumchi)
1978 Hans Christian Andersen Medal for Children’s Literature, Denmark (for Soumchi)
1983 Bernstein Prize for Literature, Israel (for A Perfect Peace)
1984 Officer of the Order of Arts and Letters of the French Republic
1985 Writer of the Year, awarded by the Lotos Club, New York
1986 Bialik Prize for Literature, Israel
1988 Prix Femina, for best foreign novel appearing in France (for Black Box)
1988 Wingate Prize, London (for Black Box)
1988 Honorary Doctorate, Hebrew Union College, Cincinnati OH and Jerusalem
1988 Honorary Doctorate, Western New England College, Springfield, MA
1992 Honorary Doctorate, Tel Aviv University
1992 Peace Prize at Frankfurt International Book Fair, awarded by German Publishers’ and Booksellers’ Association.
1993 Luchs Prize for children’s literature, Bremen, Germany (for Soumchi)
1993 Hamoré Prize for children’s literature, France (for Soumchi)
1994 Maurice A. Stiller Prize for Literature, Baltimore Hebrew University, MD
1997 Knight’s Cross of the Legion D’Honneur of the Republic of France, awarded by President Jacques Chirac
1997 Blue Cobra Award, Switzerland, for Panther in the Basement
1998 Honorary Doctorate, Brandeis University, MA
1998 Israel Prize for Literature – Israel’s Jubilee Year
1999 Elected Honorary Fellow, St. Anne’s College, Oxford, England
1999 My Michael selected by Bertelsmann international publishers’ panel of judges and its readers’ club as one of the 100 greatest novels of the 20th century
2002 Freedom of Expression Prize, awarded by the Norwegian Authors’ Union
2002 International Medal of Tolerance, awarded by the Polish Ecumenical Council
2003 Wizo-France award for Israeli Literature (for “The Same Sea”).
2003 Preis Der Geschwister Korn-und-Gerstenmann-Stiftung (Germany).
2004 Prix “France Culture” for A Tale Of Love And Darkness”
2004 International “Ovidius Literary Prize”, from Romania’s Writers Union
2004 Catalonia International Prize (shared with Sari Nusseibeh) “for lifetime Literary Work and work for peace”
2004 International “Die Welt” Literary Award (Berlin) for “A Tale Of Love And Darkness”.
2004 International Prize For Autobiography “Viajes Con Cuaderno” (Spain) for “a Tale Of Love And Darkness”
2004 Sandro Onofri Literary Prize (Roma) for “A Tale of Love And Darkness”
2004 Lombardia Peace Prize (Milano)
2005 Bruno Kreisky Prize for Political Literature (Vienna) for “a Tale of Love and Darkness”.
2005 Nominated “Commander Of The Order Of Arts And Letters” of the French Republic.
2005 KORET Book Award (USA) for “a Tale of Love And Darkness”
2005 Goethe Prize (Frankfurt) for lifetime literary and essayistic Work, with an emphasis on “A Tale Of Love And Darkness”
2005 Agnon Prize Of The City of Jerusalem, for “love And Darkness”
2005 Wingate Prize, London, for “A Tale Of Love And Darkness”
2005 Nominated Honorary Member of The Helenic Authors’ Society.
2006 Honorary Doctorate, Jewish Theological Seminary, New York
2006 Honorary Doctorate, The Hebrew University, Jerusalem
2006 Honorary Doctorate, The Weizmann Institute, Rehovot
2006 National Jewish Book Award, USA (for “A Tale Of love And Darkness”)
2006 Corine prize (Munich) for a lifetime work
2007 Member of the American Academy of Arts and sciences
2007 Ambrogino D’Oro Medal, awarded by the City of Milan
2007 Nominated “Man Of The Year” by Tel Aviv Museum Of Art
2007 Premio Grinzane Cavour, Italy
2007 Prince Of Asturias Prize’ Spain
2007 The cross Of Honour Of The Federal Republic of Germany
2008 Stefan Heym Prize’ City of Chemnitz, Germany
2008 Dan David Prize, Tel Aviv University
2008 Honorary Doctorate, University of Antwerp
2008 Primo Levi Prize, Genova
2008 Ulisses Prize, Corsica
2008 Heinrich Heine Prize, City of Dusseldorf’ Germany
2009 Jonas Weiss Memorial Award (Sweden)
2009 “A Tale Of Love And Darkness” selected “book of the decade” by Galey Tsahal Radio and by Maariv newspaper
2010 Honorary Doctorate, Siena University of Foreigners
2010 Honorary Fellow, Israel Museum, Jerusalem
2010 Budapest Intl. Prize For Literature
2010 Siegfried Unseld Prize for Literature, Berlin
2010 The Readers Prize Of Torino Intl. Literary Festival
2010 Prix Mediterranee Etranger, France (for “scenes From A Village Life”)
2010 Napoli Prize (for “Scenes From A Village Life”)
2011 “The Same Sea” adapted for the stage (in Tel Aviv) and as an opera (Bari, Italy)
2011 Honorary Doctorate, Melbourne University
2012 Honorary Doctorate, Bucharest University
2012  Italy’s Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa literary prize for “The Hill of Evil Counsel”
2002-2012 A Tale Of Love And Darkness translated into 29 languages, wins 10 awards in 9 countries and sells over 1 million copies.
2013 Honorary Doctorate, Lodge University
2013 Franz Kafka Prize in the Czech Republic, for his works that “appeal to readers regardless of their origin, nationality and culture.”
2013 Newman Prize for Literature by The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, in recognition of his continues literary work.